Tags

, , ,

Disclaimer:  the folks at Boyajian don’t know me from Adam . . . but I’d love to be a taste tester for them! 

Do you have a flavor that beckons to you when you’re browsing through a cookbook or a menu?  I do.  If I see lemon zest or lime zest, my mouth waters and I explore further.  I was reading a cooking article in a magazine several years ago that recommended using pure citrus oil if you’re going to add citrus flavoring – and Boyajian Pure Citrus Oils were recommended as the best.  I ordered a sampler pack and have kept them in the door of my fridge ever since.  When I got my first order, I read on the back of little green box, ”  To appreciate the remarkable intensity of these oils, imagine it takes 44 oranges, 66 lemons and 80 limes to fill a 1 oz bottle of oil.  Use sparingly in place of peel or zest.”  (I really think there should be exclamation points after those statements)  It’s hard to shut me up when I start singing the praises of these magical oils.  They’ve been one of my secret ingredients for a long time and I’m finally spilling the beans. 

•◊•

The orange oil is useful for baking, but since I don’t bake much, it sat in the fridge for a long time until I figured out another use.  Orange Honey Vinaigrette. 

A scant 1/4 teaspoon turns a vinaigrette into an exquisite dressing for a spinach salad.  This one is 2 parts EVO oil, 1 part (white) vinegar, honey to taste and a 1/4 tsp orange oil.   I added a bit of parsley because I found a winter survivor in my herb garden.  

This salad is a simple mix of baby spinach, Texas pecans, dried cranberries and chopped bits of bacon.

 

•◊•

The Pure Lemon Oil is a favorite.  I add a few drops to mayonnaise with a few grates of fresh pepper and use it as a dipping sauce for artichokes.  It can also be used for a quick aioli sauce and sometimes I add it to EVO oil to saute veggies.  Hands down, one of my favorite uses is in a Waldorf salad.  It brightens the flavors so much, it puts a big grin on my face when I taste it.

•◊•

 Then there’s that delicious Pure Lime Oil.  It’s also incredible mixed with mayo or EVO oil, but it has a ton of other uses.  A dab stirred into margaritas or Mojitos gives them a zesty citrus punch. One of my favorite ways to use it is in homemade hot sauce and it rocks in fresh salsa.  I make one with fresh corn, tomatoes, onions, cilantro and peppers in the summer and it never lasts long.  Goooooood stuff.   

One last thing . . . both times I ordered from Boyajian, they added a complimentary product sample.  Check out their site and some of their other oils and vinegars.  Delicious!

