Tags

, ,

I enjoy upcycling old “junk” into something usable and fun.  This week, I finished an organization project in my kitchen;  it turned this mismatched pile of baskets gathered from various corners of my house into  a clutter busting shelf for all the nonsense that gets tossed on the bar.

This is the “before”  shot of the baskets.  Apparently, I have no pictures of the cluttered bar (whew!)

To make these baskets more uniform, I painted and covered them.  The project took about 2 -1/2 yards of fabric, a can of spray paint, some ribbon and buttons for the oddly shaped baskets and newspaper to make simple patterns for the liners.  I’m not a great seamstress, but I have a sewing machine and I’m not afraid to use it. :)

This is after they’ve been unified . . . the paint was a little light, so I went over it with Minwax staining sealer.  It gave them a fun anique-ish color, but required an extended airing for the paint fumes. 

To finish my project, I arranged the baskets on a narrow bookshelf I bought for less than $20 when a local bookstore went out of business.  It takes just a sliver of space, but holds all the baskets nicely when placed near the phone and chalkboard.  That chalkboard was a project several years ago – made from a framed painting that was  just sitting around in the garage.  I reworked it with a thin piece of wood and blackboard paint.  The artwork in the bottom right corner is a beloved piece done by my grandson when he was 3.  It will live in the corner forever and ever.  Amen.

This is a little hard to read, but I zoomed in to show you what a workhorse this new little unit will be . .  .

 

 

Happy Easter, everybody!

