Tags

,

Hallelujah, it’s finally hot in Montana!  The gardens were very late this year with such a cool June, but  the long summer days up here make up for it, and they’re going great guns now.

Raspberries are coming in fast and furious, and when I saw an article in my latest issue of Better Homes & Gardens about throwing an ice cream social and using homemade fruit sauce as an ice cream topping, I knew three things:

  1. I’d found a perfect use for some of the raspberries
  2. I had found a delightful dish to post after my summer hiatus
  3. I was going to use a roll of pre-made pie dough because I am baking impaired.

To start, you make pie crust “cookies” which were a cinch with purchased pie dough.  Simply unroll and cut out shapes then bake according to the package directions for a pre-cooked shell.  I used my old biscuit cutter and parchment paper and it worked like a dream.  I pricked the cookies with a fork and gave them a sprinkle of sugar then slid the parchment onto the cookie sheet.  The beauty of just making the crust as opposed to a pie, is 10 minutes in the oven instead of close to an hour.  Ugh!  With no air conditioning up here we try to avoid the oven until September.

While the cookies baked, I started the sauce.  Are you ready for the ingredients . . . 1–½ cups raspberries and ¾ cup sugar!  Now how easy is that?  Bring the sauce to a boil over medium heat and then simmer about 10 minutes until it starts to thicken a bit  –  it will thicken more as it cools.  Refrigerate until use.

To serve, I used a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream, a dollop of raspberry sauce and a cookie.  I topped the scoop with a fresh berry.  A mint leaf would also be pretty if one happens to have them on hand – I did not.

I learned a couple of things with this last photo.  Two scoops of ice cream with raspberries on top look just like boobies.  Also, ice cream is difficult to photograph on a warm day.  Fortunately, Dana didn’t mind eating the ice cream boobies or the second melty dish so it was a win/win for both.

This is a super easy and delicious way to have pie and ice cream and got an enthusiastic “thumbs up” from my taste testers.  The crust counters the sweetness of the sauce nicely.  I’ll be doing this one again with other fruits and ice cream flavors.  Peaches sound delicious, don’t they?

