This weekend was beautiful!  Saturday, I went to the city again to look for a dress (again) to wear to Jessi’s wedding.  It was not a fruitful trip, but the drive home was nice.  The last 45 minutes of the drive is along the east shore of the lake, and the scenery is breathtaking –especially at sunset.  The view, coupled with a funny episode of Prairie Home Companion, made me smile and put the unsuccessful shopping trip behind me.   I noticed that the ground cover along the highway was starting to turn orange and how striking it looked against the green of the pines.  I stole glances at the lake and the sunset while trying to keep my eyes on the road and to watch for the inevitable deer.  When the sun started disappearing behind the top of the mountains across the lake, I pulled off the road and snapped a couple of pictures.
IMG_1312
sun sliding behind the mountains

 

 

 

moments later
moments later

 

Sunday was sunny and very warm – a picture perfect early September day.   I got my camera and tried to capture some of the last bits of summer. 

 

Russian sage
Russian sage
a lone poppy
a lone poppy
these little orange beauties taste like drops of sunshine
these little beauties taste like drops of sunshine
an onion hiding in the lettuce
an onion hiding in the lettuce
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
first little grape harvest - next year I'm thinking jelly
first little grape harvest – next year I’m thinking there may be jelly
 
 
 
 
these little beauties grow around the tomatoes.  the smell reminds me of being 6 and pulling them apart to decorate our mudpies.
I always plant marigolds around my tomatoes & I love to pick little bouquets of them.   their spicy smell reminds me of being six, when we used them to decorate our mud-pies.

 

 The neighbor’s dog came to visit, and the neighbors came soon after.  We leaned on Dana’s new fence and talked about our pets, home improvements, the weather . . . things that made us  all smile.  These last warm days make everyone smile.

