A couple of years ago, I saw this hurdy gurdy looking contraption at the little hardware store down the road. Intrigued, I took it home for a spin.

 IMG_2501

IMG_2470

The popcorn made in my handy dandy (Genuine!) Whirly Pop tastes like popcorn should taste – crunchy and just more popcorny.   After tasting the real deal, I gave away all my little bags of microwave corn and I’ve never looked back.   Last year I discovered some delicious varieties of popcorn with tender little hulls called (cleverly enough) hull-less.   They are small and flavorful and have names like Tiny Tender and Lady Finger and you can order them from Amish Country Popcorn.  Truly the best thing since sliced bread!

The easiest way to serve this tasty treat is to dump the freshly popped corn into a warm metal bowl and then drizzle a good dose of olive oil over all. Add a dash or two of sea salt and toss, then prepare to enjoy popcorn like never before. Not one to let a good thing be, I started experimenting with seasonings.  Here are a few of our favorites.  For the salty mixes, combine the dry seasonings in a small bowl and then pop the corn.  Generously drizzle olive oil over the freshly popped corn and then toss in the mix to taste.  You can use melted butter in place of olive oil if you choose. 

Camp FireIMG_2487
Hot & smoky – made with ¼ tsp each of chili powder, cumin, cayenne pepper & smoked paprika blended with 1 tsp of sea salt.

Chili Lime IMG_2484
Mix 1 tsp sea salt with a scant ¼ tsp of Boyajian pure lime oil or fresh lime zest Add chili powder and cumin to taste and sprinkle with red chili pepper flakes.

Ranch or White Cheddar
These are both simply made by sprinkling dry seasoning packs to taste.

Maple Kettle Corn with Walnuts

IMG_2497This was the popcorn du jour.  I’ve never been a fan of kettle corn, but homemade is delicious – reminds me the of popcorn balls I loved as a girl. The Whirly Pop comes with directions for  making kettle corn and I just added maple flavoring and chopped walnuts.  Next time I will add the nuts near the end of the popping so they won’t be quite as toasted.

I’m open to ideas if anyone has any suggestions – I’ve read several recipes with chocolate, but I’m resisting these (so far).    Thanks for stopping by, please leave a comment and tell me what you think!

