My very good friend, Lea Ann, writes the fabulous blog, Mangos, Chili and Z.  (check out her site – it’s really beautiful and so well done)   Anyway, LA is hosting an online contest, and the prize is a great, out-of-print cookbook.  To enter said contest, I am to do a post featuring my foodie related Christmas goodies.  I did get a couple of foodie gifts for Christmas, but thought I’d also post a few other kitchen goodies that I enjoy. You’ll see.   

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ 

I got a little gizmo that I’ve wanted for quite some time.  It’s a special nutmeg grater, storer and shaker all in one cute little box that sits in my spice cabinet.  It’s made by microplane and it’s very sharp!  I love to use a dash of fresh nutmeg in some surprising dishes  – now it’s more fun!  

 

 

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ 

Of course, there was also my wonderful new French oven (from my daughter) that I raved about in an earlier post.  This has been used almost constantly – I research things I can make in it, just to get to use it.  Food cooked in this gives me a big warm fuzzy – it’s comfort food deluxe.  I’m drawn to this type of cooking when the weather turns frigid.   I’ve been using that mesh herb basket a lot, too.  

 

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ 

These little dudes are used almost every day.  I like the clean way they cut parsley, chives and other herbs.  See how the chives are all uniform?  I love it! 

 

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ 

Then there’s my secret bowl fixation – though I’m fairly certain that Dana is on to me, so it’s not really a secret.  Regardless, I’m coming out of the “cabinet” with my little obsession.  I have a house full of these little bowls and yet I still pick them up and fondle them at department stores, garage sales, friends houses – it’s ridiculous!  But I love them all and use them frequently, so it’s okay . .  RIGHT?  I’m naming this affliction Bowlio unless someone has a better name for it.  This is a small sampling:

It has been suggested that I’m a bit of a bowl ho.  😀

