For me, salsa is the measuring stick for a Mexican restaurant. I like it hot and tangy and if I’m not impressed with the salsa, it often follows that I don’t like the restaurant’s other offerings. Having said that, I had to share this zippy little recipe that my sister-in-law was talking about on FaceBook a couple of weeks ago. She is a long time Texan and Texans know their salsa! (I know this because I am a Texas gal, too)

I got the recipe and did a double-take at the ingredients. It calls for two whole bunches of cilantro! I was leery about it, but gave it a try as it is written and WOW! This stuff is delicious. I halved the recipe, and it made plenty. For a half recipe, I used one jalapeno, with about half of the seeds – I like my salsa caliente! Without further ado, I give you Marilyn’s Green Salsa:

Marilyn’s Green Salsa

2 large cans Rotels (tomatoes & green chiles) OR 1 > 28 oz. can whole peeled tomatoes
1-1/2 tsp. salt
1 T. granulated garlic/garlic powder
1 T. crushed red peppers
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1-2 jalapeno peppers (boil first for about two minutes)
1-1/2 tsp. oil (I use olive oil)
2 (yes 2) bunches of cilantro
1/2 an onion
1 lime (juice only)

Cook jalapeno peppers in boiling water until tender (about two minutes with a steady boil), then drain. Use one small jalapeno with the seeds removed for mild heat, two whole for intense heat. Put cilantro and oil in food processor and process to smooth consistency. Add remaining ingredients and chop until desired consistency.

With all the cilantro you are using, the sauce is going to be quite green … but very, very yummy. If you don’t like the taste of cilantro, this recipe may not be for you, but it might surprise you. šŸ˜‰

