Occasionally I make something tasty enough that I’m inspired to write it down so we can enjoy it another day.   This is one of those dishes.  I’ve tested the recipe (guideline) and have declared it share-able.  I haven’t decided what to call it.  I filed it as Confetti Penne with Shrimp but was hoping for a more lively name . . . I’m open to suggestions. 

One reason I like this dish is that I can come home from work and put it together fairly quickly with ingredients I usually have on hand.   I keep a bag of frozen raw shrimp in the freezer and I can quickly thaw them with a little cold water while I prep the veggies.  I’m pretty sure the package says not to do this, but I do it anyway and the shrimp police have never bothered me.   This is tasty enough to fix for guests with a little tossed salad, wine & bread but it’s fine as a stand-alone dish, too.   As long as there are candles and little wine, it’s perfect. 

I snapped a quick photo before I started chopping – such pretty ingredients!

 And this is the “after” shot – before adding freshly grated parmesan

Confetti Penne With Shrimp

INGREDIENTS:

*         ¼ cup EVO oil

*         1 red,yellow or orange bell pepper:  sliced in thin strips about 1” long.

*         ½ white onion:  sliced the same size as peppers

*         3-4 cloves garlic: diced or slivered

*         1 tsp red pepper flakes (optional – you know I love my spice)

*         4 or 5 large basil leaves:  sliced in thin strips (or 1/2 to 1 tsp dried)

*         Raw shrimp (enough for 2 servings) –   rinsed with shells removed

*         2 Tbsp flour

*         1/3 cup chicken broth

*         1/3 cup white wine

*         3 – 4 Tbsp half & half  (depending on sauce thickness)

*         Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

*         1 tomato: small dice

*         1 Tbsp chopped Italian flat-leaf parsley

*         Freshly grated parmesan cheese

*         Penne Pasta (enough for 2 servings)

PREPARATION:

Start pasta, prep veggies and assemble all ingredients

Heat the olive oil in a medium skillet – medium high heat. 

Add peppers, onions, garlic, chile flake and basil – sauté until the veggies are just tender.

Add shrimp and sauté a minute or two, turn – cook until pink on both sides. 

Sprinkle the mixture with the flour. 

Stir to combine flour & pan juices.  Cook the roux for a few seconds. 

Add wine & broth, stirring until thickened. 

Stir in half & half,  (enough for a nice saucy consistency), cooking just to heat through.  Season with salt & pepper as desired.   

Turn burner off, and stir in chopped tomato.  Cover to keep warm if pasta is not finished.

Serve over pasta – Garnish with parmesan & parsley.

