Tags

, , ,

I’m just a sucker for a huge hunk o’ Gorgonzola from Costco.  It’s great crumbled on salads, diced up and added to wraps or -used for one of my favorite snacks- sweet slices of Fuji apple with a smear of the salty melted cheese.     

This is an easy and delicious dish I can make on week nights when I have very little time to get it on the table; but it’s tasty enough to serve to guests.   The melted Gorgonzola gives the simple sauce a delicious flavor!  I vary the veggies, but especially like this combination.

Prep veggies and start the penne pasta.  I used

  • 1/2 an onion cut in slivers
  • 1/2 large red pepper cut in slivers
  • A fist full of asparagus – cut in 1″ pieces
  • 2 cloves of garlic – minced
  • Optional veggie – this time I used 1/2 jar mushrooms, other times some diced sun-dried tomato

Saute the onion & garlic in olive oil until translucent then add diced red peppers.  Season with black pepper and a pinch of fresh or dried thyme.   When the pepper is almost tender, add the asparagus and saute for a couple of minutes.  This dish also got about a quarter cup of jarred mushrooms because they were in my fridge.  Once the asparagus is done to your liking, turn off the heat and set aside. 

Cube some Gorgonzola (1/2 to 3/4 cup’s worth) in a microwave safe dish and heat in 30 second increments, stirring in between, until it’s just melted.  Set aside.

When the penne is finished cooking, drain, but leave about 1/4 cup of water behind.  Use the warm pasta pan to mix the melted gorgonzola into the hot pasta and water,  stirring to coat the pasta evenly.

Add the pasta to the sautéed vegetables and stir gently to coat.  Garnish with parsley and/or a grate or two of  parmesan. 

Mr. H is used to my experimental style of cooking, and he’s a great (honest) taste tester.   When he put the first fork full in his mouth, he said, “This is perfect – write it down &  don’t change a thing.” 
I love it when that happens.

