Tags

, ,

 

Our dinner this evening was an unexpected surprise . . . 

I was going to make a different pasta dish – had everything out, all ready to prep- and then noticed my big plastic box of Costco tomatoes all ripe and ready to eat NOW.   A quick inventory of the fridge and I also found a lot of baby spinach that needed to be eaten sooner than later.  Using these two ingredients, I came up with this easy dish that was incredibly tasty.  I seriously considered calling it “Kick-Ass Pasta” –  but then changed it to a polite name I could share with everyone.

The great thing about this dish  is how quickly it went together.  I started the pasta water and by the time the pasta was cooked, the dish was ready to go.  Perfect for an easy weeknight dinner.

◊◊◊◊

Tomato & Spinach Pasta

Ingredients:

  • Spaghetti for two generous servings
  • 3 or 4 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 5 or 6 cloves garlic – diced
  • 1 tsp Herbs de Provence, or Italian Seasoning
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp red pepper flake
  • 1 cup diced tomato
  • 1 & 1/2 cups baby spinach leaves
  • Salt & pepper

Procedure:

While Pasta is cooking, dice tomatoes & garlic
Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat
Add garlic, red pepper flakes and Herbs de Provence and cook until its sizzling and you can smell the garlic.
Reduce heat to low and stir in the tomatoes.  Add about 1/2 tsp salt and a generous grating of black pepper.

◊◊◊◊

Right before the spaghetti is done, stir the spinach leaves into the tomatoes.  Drain the pasta and place it on top of the sauce.  Leave the hot spaghetti on top for just a moment before tossing the mixture together.  Top with grated parmesan, then garnish as desired.  I used some delicious oil cured olives with thyme.

See?  I told you it was simple and ohmygosh is this good!

