Tags

, ,

May came and it finally got warm up here.  Springtime keeps us hopping with all the mowing, gardening and sun worship. 

Most of my garlic that I put in last fall, got frozen in a freak October cold snap.  Several of our beautiful new vines we put in last summer are looking like they won’t make it either, and that’s a bummer.     On the bright side, I planted leeks in the space vacated by the garlic.  I got a small package of starts and I laughed at the number of  baby leeks that came out of that tiny box.  If they do well up here, we’re going to be lousy with leeks.  This was the last addition to my early garden box. 

In addition to the 7 surviving garlic plants, I’m now growing leeks, onions, several kinds of leaf lettuce, arugula, chard, radishes, peas, strawberries raspberries and a plethora of herbs.  I found a variety of cilantro called Delfino – it looks more like a fern than cilantro, but it’s supposedly slow to bolt.   We’ll see.   I’ll be planting another garden of heat loving plants like tomatoes, beans and okra in a week or so.

◊•◊

The countryside is so green this time of year.  This is the view out my back door.  You can’t really see in a photo, (especially this blurry shot) but there is a range of beautiful snow-capped mountains behind the tall pines.   The  crabapple is blooming profusely this week.   That tiny white speck up the hill is Wilson.

◊•◊

This is the view from the front deck aka “The Sunset Deck.”   You can see another range of mountains across the valley.  The deer are daily visitors and soon the little fawns will start appearing.  They’re so cute that I almost forgive them for wanting to taste my flowers and garden plants. 

◊•◊

On May 11, the first hummingbird showed up.  He hovered where the feeder usually hangs and nagged at me through the window.    Dana got all four feeders hung and now it sounds like a dozen miniature weed whackers buzzing away.  It looks like a WWII dogfight.  We have Rufous hummers up here and they’re the playground bullies, always chasing the others off the feeders.  My favorites are the Calliope like this little guy – Dana got this great shot last spring.

◊•◊

I’ve been putting a little less energy in the evening meals with all the spring activity, but I did throw together a great little Greek salad last week.  No recipe – just chopped tomato, feta, diced onion and/or chives and olives  that I dressed with EVO oil, lemon juice and a dash of Cavendar’s Greek seasoning.   Some toasty bread and a glass of wine made a great light supper.  

◊•◊

After hours of mowing and gardening, this is my favorite part of the day . . .  having a glass of wine on the deck, listening to the birds coming in to roost and savoring the beauty.  In this shot, as always,  my little wingnut of a dog is enjoying the sunset with me. 

