Tags

,

When David Leibowitz talked about Fried Butter Beans with Feta, Sorrel and Sumac I was interested; but since I can’t buy sorrel and sumac, I blew right past it and didn’t give it a lot of thought.  Then Chef John at Food Wishes did a video post on pan-fried butter beans using canned butter beans and he used ingredients that were available in Montana.   I was intrigued enough to give it a try.  Now that I’ve tasted these beauties, I’ve added canned butter beans to my pantry staples.  Seriously.  You can change the seasoning to suit your taste.  I’ve tried fresh rosemary, garlic and sea salt along with the red and black pepper.  I’ve added arugula and strips of chard.   I’ve used a squeeze of lime in lieu of the vinegar or wine.   As Chef John said, “Don’t worry, you can’t break this recipe…it’s beans!”   Add a garden salad and you have a light dinner for two in about 20 minutes.  And they’re so delicious you’re gonna love ’em . . . try them and you’ll see. 

Sautéed Butter Beans

Serves 2

Ingredients

1 can butter beans
3 tablespoons olive oil
salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste
a pinch of red pepper flakes
couple sprigs of fresh herbs
1 tablespoon white wine, sherry vinegar or fresh squeezed lime

Heat the olive oil on medium low.   While it’s heating, rinse the butter beans and drain well before adding them to the oil.   Let the beans cook until they start to get crusty (about 10 min) add salt, peppers, herbs, garlic and greens if you’re using them.   Cook a little longer until the beans are nice and crusted, then drizzle the wine/vinegar or lime juice over all.  Give it a quick stir and serve.    That’s ALL!

•••

Now, about those baby birds . . .

We keep several birdhouses for the swallows that show up every spring.  The boxes on the garden fence are always the first ones to get takers, and we love watching the nest building.   Gardening becomes a little dicey after the babies hatch, and the parents scold and swoop at me until they figure out that I’m harmless.   After a few weeks, I start watching for the little birds to start peeping out.  The following photos are from the past couple of weeks.   Enjoy!

First glimpse of the little ones:

Taking a look out

Then there were two

Make that three

Finally, some dinner!

I can hear them trying out their wings inside the box, so I’m sure they’re on the verge of fledging.   Sigh . . . they grow up so fast.

