Tags

,

This will be a brief post – there is a lot going on with a computer class starting Monday and the garden coming to a head.   Although I’d almost gotten over not having any green beans this year -due to a perfect storm of garden maladies-  I  must have put it out into the cosmos that I was bummed.   Two good friends gave me massive amounts of green beans this week.  This is what’s left:I’ve been cooking and loving  this bounty and plan to make my dilly beans again.  If you click the link, please remember it was my second post ever – what a difference a year makes. 

When Sunday turned rainy and chilly, I decided make a soup using some of said beans as well as some of the other produce that’s beginning to stack up around here.  I’m not complaining, I’m just sayin’.   I truly love the end of summer bounty.  A quick search on the internet and I put this simple soup together.  It is full of green beans, onions and potatoes, and I had everything I needed except a meaty ham bone.  Our little grocery had a package of smoked ham hock that worked  well.  The end result was this creamy soup.  It may not be so much to look at, but it’s quite tasty!  This is very good thing, because it made quite a lot.  It will be perfect for quick meals this busy week while we start the new routine.

The Stock:

A meaty ham bone or 2 smoked pork hocks boiled for 1 to 2 hours in 2 quarts of water (covered)

The Veggies:

4 cups green beans, sliced in 1″ pieces

3 or 4 diced potatoes

1 onion coarsely chopped

A handful of flat parsley – chopped  (I saved a little for garnish)

Thyme leaves – I used about 1 Tbsp fresh

salt & pepper to taste

The Finish:

A cup or more of 1/2 & 1/2

A roux to thicken the soup after it’s cooked.  I used 3 Tbsp flour and 3 Tbsp butter. 

Directions:

Boil the meat for 1-2 hours in 2 qts of water to make the stock.  Remove the ham and let it cool.  Pull the meat off the bone and chop it before adding it back to the stock.  Discard the bones.  Add the veggies and simmer until they’re tender.  When the veggies are done, add the cream and roux, raise the heat a little and stir until thickened. 

Revisiting last post

 The new little girlie has settled in and enjoyed a day in front of the fire with her big brother.  Yes, I said fire.  In August. 

