Tags

,

Wednesdays are one of my late days when I don’t get home until nearly 7:00.  The other night when I got in the car to head home, I found a texted proposal from my sweetie that read,  “bring home some parsley, and I’ll make clams.”   When that husband of mine wants to feed me some delicious carbs bathed in olive oil  and spiced with chile peppers and bacon, my willpower goes fishing.  I gave it no thought before texting back an enthusiastic, “DEAL!”

Even though this dish is simple, it’s sassy and the flavor is exceptional.   The only trouble with posting this recipe is that there is no real recipe.  Things aren’t measured, they are sort of estimated.   So use the following as a guideline and tweak it to suit your taste.  We would probably use fresh clams if we lived near the coast but the little cans of chopped clams are delicious and convenient. 

Dana’s Linguine & Clams

Ingredients

  • Linguine (or spaghetti) for two
  • 1 small can of chopped clams, drained and rinsed (Dana adds the strained clam juice to the pasta water)
  • a lot of olive oil – 1/2 – 3/4 cup
  • 3 or 4 Tbsp.  cooked bacon, chopped (we use real bacon bits)
  • 2 or 3 Tbsp. chopped parsley (divided)
  • 1/2 teaspoon red chile flakes
  • 2 cloves garlic – finely chopped

While the pasta is cooking, heat the olive oil on fairly low heat (clams are juicy and will splatter oil if the heat is too high).  Add the bacon, clams, garlic, chile flakes and half the parsley to the oil and simmer while the pasta cooks.  When the pasta is done, divide it between two pasta bowls and ladle the clam mixture over the hot pasta.  Add a sprinkle of parsley and serve with chewy rustic bread that can be dipped in the deLICOUS oil.   A tossed green salad rounds out the meal perfectly. 

Of all the dishes my hubby cooked for me when we were dating, this is the one that convinced me to marry him.  Its perfection is in its simplicity.

