Tags

,

Just in time for Super Bowl – it’s brussels sprouts!  I hear you nay-sayers out there but trust me . . . when you wrap food in bacon and spear it with a toothpick, it becomes perfect for noshing during the game.  We discovered this simple treat while wandering through the downtown art galleries during the monthly art walk.  Being an adventurous eater,  I didn’t even know what it was when I popped it in my mouth (hey, it was bacon for goodness sake) and I had to ask what I was tasting.  It took willpower to walk away after a couple of these little darlings. 

Fast forward a couple of months.

I’ll admit right here and now that I’m not a big football fan, but I love Super Bowl Sunday, because I adore a party with a food theme like “sport’s-bar-appropriate-dishes-that-go-well-with-beer.” When I was brainstorming for something new to fix, these came to mind. A quick search turned up the recipe source, Southern Living Magazine.

This delicious combination makes a fabulous appetizer and the creamy mustard dipping sauce is a perfect accompaniment.  I made these to test the recipe and the biggest sport’s fan in the house gave them an enthusiastic thumbs up as he was loading up a second plate.   Easy as can be, you have to give these a try – they’re a find!

This is after the simple prep – before popping them in the oven.

 

Twenty short minutes later – just look at them!

 

Bacon Wrapped Brussels Sprouts

Southern Living Magazine – November 2008

Prep: 15 min., Bake: 25 min.

 Yield: Makes about 6 to 8 appetizer servings

Ingredients

  • 10  bacon slices
  • 10  Brussels sprouts
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Creamy Mustard Sauce

 Preparation

Preheat oven to 400°. Microwave bacon slices, in batches, between paper towels, at HIGH for 1 1/2 minutes. Cut slices in half crosswise. Cut Brussels sprouts in half lengthwise. Wrap 1 bacon piece around each Brussels sprout half; secure with a wooden pick. Place sprouts, cut sides down, on a lightly greased wire rack on a baking sheet. Sprinkle with pepper to taste. Bake at 400° for 20 to 25 minutes or until bacon is crisp and Brussels sprouts are tender. Serve with Creamy Mustard Sauce, if desired.

 Creamy Mustard Sauce 

Stir together 1/2 cup sour cream, 2 tsp. whole grain mustard, 1  tsp. brown sugar, salt and pepper to taste in a bowl.

Makes 1/2 cup

