Tags

,

I recently joked with my friend Lea Ann, that I was going to have to blog about Ramen Noodles after splurging on a new (to me) camera lens.   I started thinking about that and remembered a salad recipe I used to love that had those crunchy little noodles crumbled in.  When I searched through my recipes, I couldn’t find it, but a quick peek on the magical interwebs turned up a recipe that sounded even better.   The recipe called for baby spinach, but several commenters said that you could substitute cabbage and, since I happened to be out of spinach, the cabbage version was a go. 

This version was really good!  The textures and flavors worked well together.   I LOVED the dressing – it was a perfect combination of sweet and salty and the toasted sesame oil gave it a nice Asian flavor.  I will definitely make this again and would like to try it with spinach as it was originally created in Bon Appetit 10 years ago.    The original recipe calls for slivered almonds, but I had whole almonds, so chopped almonds were substituted.   Next time I make it I will add a more moderate amount of dressing for the initial tossing.  This was a little juicy for my liking . . . but I ate every delicious bite. 

Asian Spinach Salad

 -adapted from Bon Appetit

Dressing

  • 4 tablespoons of olive oil + 2 tablespoons of toasted sesame oil  (or 6 tablespoons olive oil )
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 3 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce

Salad

  • 2 tablespoons toasted sesame or olive oil
  • 1 3-ounce package Asian noodle soup mix (such as Top Ramen), noodles coarsely broken.
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds (I used whole chopped almonds)
  • 1 small head of Napa Cabbage or 10 oz  baby spinach leaves
  • 1 bunch green onions, chopped

Preparation

Whisk 6 tablespoons oil, honey, vinegar and soy sauce in small bowl to blend. Season dressing with salt and pepper if desired.

Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a medium skillet over medium heat.  Break the noodles up and add them to the skillet with the almonds. Stir until noodles and almonds are toasted and brown – approx 5-8 minutes. Pour contents of skillet into large bowl and allow to cool  about 10 minutes.  Add cabbage and green onions to the bowl and toss with just enough dressing to coat.   The excess dressing can be added to  individual servings as desired. 

So tell me, what’s your favorite way to eat Ramen Noodles?  😉

