Tags

,

Besides being my Pilates guru, my friend Michelle is an amazing cook.  We love to talk about food, share recipes and exchange ideas.    After class, we sometimes head over to the house to swill  sip wine or Limoncello while we conjure up something delicious. 

This was the case last week, when she told me about her latest creation, “Yum-Yum Yams.”   They sounded divine, so we made a plan to get together for an after-class nosh.  She’s always told me that sweet potatoes are an A+, guilt-free vegetable and I looked them up to get a little more info for this post.   According to the nutritional data I found, they’re one of the top 10 foods we should be eating.  And seriously people . . . these things are the BOMB!  

First, cut 3 or 4 sweet potatoes into rustic 1/2″ fries.  I peeled mine, but I’m not sure that’s necessary.  Michelle used 2 regular sweet potatoes and two of the more orange yams (which are also sweet potatoes).

Toss them with olive oil  and 1 or 2 tsp Herbes de Provence.  Place them on a wire baking rack.  I recommend lining the baking pan with foil.

Bake them in a 450° oven for 15-20 minutes on the upper shelf and then test them with a fork for tenderness.  When they’re tender, you can remove them or continue to bake them to your preferred brown-ness – I cooked them an additional 10 minutes.   Watch them carefully – they cook fast.

Salt and pepper to taste and then nosh away – it’s really hard to believe these are guiltless!  The Herbes de Provence goes beautifully with the slight sweet taste of the fries.  Thanks, Michelle, for another wonderful find!

