Since the weather guy keeps trying to make it rainy and cool, we were thrilled when Saturday dawned warm and sunny.  A nice day like that calls for brunch outside so we took a drive to the Echo Lake Café.  The café is a place we take all our visitors for breakfast or lunch because it’s just so darned good!   

 

If the parking lot isn't packed, they're closed

If the parking lot isn't packed, they're closed

 
 
Warm weather dining at its best!

Warm weather dining at its best!

We got the last outside table and I went through the agonizing process of trying to pick just one thing from so many delicious choices.  I finally settled on a Greek Omelet – a three-egg omelet with feta cheese, spinach, Kalamata olives, red onion and bell peppers. It is served with a dollop of sour cream and a side of home-fried potatoes and a muffin.  It was just perfect!  Dana chose his favorite Eggs Benedict (they have 4 kinds).  I would have snapped a picture, but I was too slow!  Also good to try is their mushroom, green onion and jack cheese stuffed crepes with Hollandaise sauce or their tasty corned beef hash with eggs.      

 

IMG_1578

My big fat Greek Omelet

In the summer, the outdoor dining is such a treat.  There is a great view of the nearby Swan Mountain Range and the dining area is wrapped around a beautiful garden.  During the winter, the dining room is warm and cozy and you can see the dramatic snow-capped Swan Mountains.   You’ve probably figured out that it’s hard to have a bad view up here!

If you’re coming to visit me, please check out the menu on their website.  We’ll be going at least once.  http://www.echolakecafe.com/index.php

♦♦♦

The cool weather arrived later in the afternoon, so I did my grocery shopping in town.  As evening approached and I was driving home, the sun dropped below the dark clouds and gave a surreal glow to everything.  The light was so amazing it was hard not to stop and take photos!  I managed to control myself until I turned off the highway onto my road.  I snapped these through the windshield.

 

Look at that sky!

Look at that sky!

 

Be sure to notice the well-mown yard to the left!

Be sure to notice my nicely mowed yard to the left!